Hello, my name’s Alex and I Google “Arturo Vidal Manchester United” 50 times a day

New manager, new system, new season, same result. That’s how a lot of people will be feeling after today’s game and I don’t blame them.

I do think people should focus on a number of positives though. Ander Herrera looks a real player and with the right person alongside him he will have no problem in running that midfield this year.

Phil Jones also looks like he might turn into the player we’ve all been hoping he will – he put in a really mature and committed performance against Swansea as too did young Tyler Blackett who looks a fantastic prospect.

That back three, however, is screaming out for a leader, an experienced head that will calm the youngsters at the back.

Now for the rant…

I’m far from happy with losing 1-2 at home but it may just be the best thing that could have happened.

Our saviour Louis Van Gaal has just been dealt the wake up call he may have needed and I assume he was straight to Ed Woodward’s office after the game demanding players.

Why we need to lose our first game to do this is beyond me.

For some strange reason we have been slow in the transfer market for years, I have no idea why this is but my word it is frustrating.

Chelsea have been incredibly efficient, landing top quality players with no long, painful and embarrassing transfer saga insight.

We have a habit of drawing the process out and a typical example of this is the situation with every United fan’s dream signing Chilean Arturo VIdal.

Arturo Vidal saga – I can’t take it anymore

I have developed OCD this summer. Some people have to switch the lights on and off ten times before they go to sleep whereas I have to Google “Arturo Vidal Manchester United” 50 times a day.

Naturally I ignore any publication that suggests the deal is not going through and when a sketchy Chilean newspaper says he has completed his 32nd medical with us I’m all over it.

Just how hard are these deals to complete? And what are we doing wrong?

I only have one comment to make on this deal and that is that it feels exactly the same as when we signed Wesley Sneijder… ohh wait.

I think we’re going to end up looking else where now because the fact I have had to search Vidal’s name 18 times whilst writing this makes me feel that it has gone on far too long for anything to actually surface.

Transfers

I’m not going to sit here and suggest that I know what’s going to happen because I don’t… although that doesn’t stop everyone else.

What I will also say is that we need two central defenders and a centre midfielder.

Below I have suggested a starting 11 which includes the signings I would like… So obviously Vidal is in there.

De Gea
Jones Benatia Rojo
Valencia Shaw
Vidal Herrera
Mata
Van Persie Rooney

Leave a comment